Healthy diet for celiacs: a gluten-free menu

Healthy diet for celiacs: a gluten-free menu

Celiac disease is one of the most common and growing eating disorders among the population. It is the inability of the digestive system to process a gluten protein, gliadin. This protein is present in many foods such as oats or wheat, so precautions must be taken when preparing a diet for celiac.

Gluten-free foods offered in supermarkets are becoming more and more common, but it is also advisable to prepare a diet with the least possible risks in which we make sure that it is a gluten -free diet. For this we must differentiate between prohibited foods and those that are suitable for consumption.

Foods allowed and prohibited in the celiac diet

Among the foods prohibited in the diet for celiac are: bread and wheat flour, oats, barley and rye. Therefore, it is advisable to avoid industrial pastries, which usually contain it, as well as pasta. Some beverages such as beer, malt…and even chocolate are also not allowed , unless it is specifically indicated that it does not contain gluten.

Other foods, on the other hand, improve the digestion of people with celiac disease and should be present in their diet. Among them are proteins of animal origin (meat, fish, eggs) and especially skimmed dairy products, as well as vegetables and legumes. Fruit, in addition to being very healthy, also provides fiber, and to incorporate carbohydrates into the diet we can opt for alternatives such as rice or corn.

As for the rest of the food, it is advisable to always check that it is indicated on the packaging that they are suitable for coeliac . We must not forget that celiac disease is a disorder, and therefore we must avoid following this diet as if it were a fad to lose weight , since the lack of gluten in healthy people also has serious consequences for health.

Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Ready to take the first step towards a healthier, happier you?

When Are You Most Available?(Required)
: